IHA Annual Membership Meeting Recap

Last November, Indiana Hospital Association hosted the Annual Membership Meeting in Indianapolis. The event was an opportunity for physician and hospital leaders from across the state of Indiana to network, share best practices, celebrate the year’s successes and plan for the future. Over 200 attendees had the opportunity to hear from keynote speakers on issues ranging from envisioning the future of population health to creating exceptional patient experiences.

IHA recognized two outstanding health care leaders, Dan Evans and Jim McIntire. Evans received the IHA Distinguished Service Award for outstanding achievement and dedication to his organization, its patients, the community and the profession. The Distinguished Service Award is IHA’s highest honor for a hospital chief executive officer. McIntire received the IHA Award of Merit for his exemplary service to health care. This award is given to an individual, other than a hospital Chief Executive Officer, who has made noteworthy contributions to the health care field and has demonstrated a devotion to the interests and goals of hospitals and the humanitarian services they provide.

In addition, IHA presented its Stella Scholarship Award to Ellery Steele, a student in the Indiana University MHA program. The Ken and Cindy Stella Scholarship Fund in Health Administration honors the Stellas for their contributions to the work of Indiana hospitals and offers financial support to students in the graduate program in health administration at Indiana University. To date, the scholarship has raised $422,000 through generous contributions to the fund and active participation in the annual golf benefit. Since 2007, the scholarship has awarded $170,000.

IHA also appointed the 2016 IHA Board of Directors, including Chairman Bryan Mills, president and CEO of Community Health Network in Indianapolis, Chairman-elect Robert Brody, senior VP/COO, Franciscan Alliance, Mishawaka/Carmel and Secretary-Treasurer Kreg Gruber, COO, Beacon Health Network in South Bend.

Visit YouTube.com/IHAconnect to watch the videos about these two exemplary leaders.




Bryan A. Mills, President/CEO, Community Health Network, Indianapolis, Chairman

Robert J. Brody, FACHE, Senior VP/COO Ambulatory Services, Franciscan Alliance, Mishawaka/Carmel, Chairman-elect

Kreg Gruber, COO, Beacon Health Network, South Bend, Secretary-Treasurer

Martin Padgett, FACHE, President/CEO, Clark Memorial Hospital, Jeffersonville, Past Chairman (2015)

Douglas J. Leonard, FACHE, President, Indiana Hospital Association, Indianapolis

Matthew Bailey, FACHE, COO, South Region of Indiana University Health, Bloomington

Thomas Barry, FACHE, President/CEO, Pulaski Memorial Hospital, Winamac

Brian Bauer, CEO, Lutheran Health Network, Fort Wayne

James Callaghan, III, M.D., President/CEO, Franciscan St. Francis Health, Indianapolis

Vincent C. Caponi, FACHE, Senior VP, Ascension Health, Indianapolis

Marilyn Custer-Mitchell, President, Parkview Wabash Hospital

Blake A. Dye, FACHE, President/CEO, St.Vincent Heart Center, Indianapolis

Bradford W. Dykes, FACHE, President, Indiana University Health Bedford Hospital

Daniel F. Evans, Jr., CEO, Indiana University Health, Indianapolis

Jason Fahrlander, FACHE, President/Acute Care Services, Community Health Network, Indianapolis

Donald P. Fesko, FACHE, CEO, Community Hospital Munster David Fletcher-Janzen, CEO, Sycamore Springs, Lafayette

Raymond Grady, FACHE, President/CEO, Methodist Hospitals, Gary and Merrillville

Al Gutierrez, FACHE, President/CEO, Saint Joseph Health, Mishawaka

Roger Howard, President/CEO, Dearborn County Hospital, Lawrenceburg

Paul Janssen, FACHE, President/CEO, Henry County Hospital, New Castle

Nancy Kennedy, M.D., Physician/Quality Advisor, Dearborn County Hospital, Lawrenceburg

Jerry R. Laue, Administrator, St.Vincent Clay, Brazil

Robert D. McLin, FACHE, President/CEO, Good Samaritan, Vincennes

Thomas D. Miller, FACHE, CEO, Quorum Health Corporation, Franklin, TN

Dennis M. Murphy, President, Indiana University Health, Indianapolis

Ben Miles, President, Parkview Behavioral, Randallia & Regional Hospitals, Fort Wayne

Jonathan Nalli, President/CEO, St.Vincent Health, Indianapolis

Michael J. Packnett, President/CEO, Parkview Health, Fort Wayne

Mamon Powers, Jr., Board Chairman, Methodist Hospitals, Gary and Merrillville

Timothy L. Putnam, FACHE, President/CEO, Margaret Mary Health, Batesville

Carl Risk, President/CEO, St.Vincent Jennings, North Vernon

Christina M. Ryan, CEO, The Women’s Hospital, Newburgh

Janice Ryba, J.D., CEO, St. Mary Medical Center, Hobart

Jean Scallon, CEO/Managing Director, Bloomington Meadows Hospital

Kevin Speer, J.D., President/CEO, Hendricks Regional Health, Danville

G. Thor Thordarson, President/CEO, Indiana University Health La Porte Hospital

Linda E. White, FACHE, President/CEO, Deaconess Health System, Evansville